The 33rd form of Ganapati

God is worshiped in many forms in Hinduism. And Ganesha or Ganapati is one if the most popular God.

As with the 64 forms of Shiva, 32 forms of Ganapathi are recognized in the Agamic scriptures.

Baala Ganapati, Dharuna Ganapati,Dwija Ganapati etc.

We turn to God in times of trouble or when we feel helpless. Often, we light a lamp and pray.

I too do this when, as often happens, there is a “power cut” in my locality.  I turn to my personal God with a prayer on my lips……

“sato m?? sad gamaya
Tamaso m?? jyotir gamaya
M???tyorm?? am???tam gamaya
Aum ????nti ????nti ????nti “

(From ignorance, lead me to truth;
From darkness, lead me to light;
From death, lead me to immortality
Aum peace, peace, peace)

– B???had??ra???yaka Upani???ad 1.3.28

…. I light a candle…and appeal to my personal Ganapati to dispel the Darkness surrounding me 😉

Unknownname

 Traditional etymology of the term “guru” is based on the interplay between darkness and light. The guru is seen as the one who “dispels the darkness of ignorance”. In some texts it is described that the syllables gu (??????) and ru (??????) stand for darkness and light, respectively.

So the” Power Cut Ganapati” is my contribution to the list of Ganapatis.
Full list and description of 32 forms of Ganapati:

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

